Press Room

News and information about ATIS, including press releases, media advisories and media contacts.

ATIS Awards Honor Members’ Visionary Leadership And Industry Contributions

ATIS Awards Honor Members’ Visionary Leadership And Industry Contributions

WASHINGTON — May 17, 2016 — ATIS is pleased to announce the recipients of its 2016 Annual Awards, which recognize nine technology leaders and industry subject matter experts for their critical contributions to information and communications technology (ICT) solutions development in support of ATIS’ strategic initiatives.

“ATIS’ work delivers great value to our industry, and the visionary leadership of these award winners is the reason for this,” said ATIS President and CEO Susan M. Miller. “From emergency services communications to mitigating caller-ID spoofing to advancing the 5G network and more, this work is solving some of the ICT’s leading challenges, and advancing the industry toward the future.”

Awards were presented in four categories: the ATIS President’s Award, Leadership, Distinguished Service and Achievement.

Farrokh Khatibi of Qualcomm received the ATIS’ President’s Award for his many contributions to ATIS’ Wireless Technologies and Systems Committee, its Technology and Operations Council initiatives, as well as 5G Ad Hoc.

The Award for Leadership is given to leaders whose vision and leadership over the past 12 months resulted in the timely creation of one or more of ATIS’ industry solutions. This year, two Leadership Awards were presented – to Kelly Springer of AT&T and to Susan Sherwood of Verizon Wireless for their leadership as 2015 co-chairs of the Emergency Services & Methodologies Subcommittee of ATIS’ Emergency Services Interconnection Forum.

Martin Dolly of AT&T received the ATIS Distinguished Service Award for his leadership and contributions in ATIS’ Packet Technologies and Systems Committee.

Five individuals received an ATIS Achievement Award. This award is presented to those who provided crucial contributions to the completion of ATIS solutions and standards during the past year. The 2016 recipients are: Jim Wiese of ADTRAN, Mark Rubino of Ericsson, Chris Wendt of Comcast, Chris Oberg of Verizon Wireless, and Stephen Edge of Qualcomm.

These ATIS Awards recipients were recognized May 17, during the 2016 ATIS Annual Meeting of the Committees Member Recognition Luncheon.  The event took place in Baltimore, Maryland, with more than 200 ATIS member representatives attending.


About ATIS

As a leading technology and solutions development organization, the Alliance for Telecommunications Industry Solutions (ATIS) brings together the top global ICT companies to advance the industry’s most pressing business priorities. ATIS’ nearly 200 member companies are currently working to address 5G, the all-IP transition, network functions virtualization, big data analytics, cloud services, device solutions, emergency services, M2M, cyber security, network evolution, quality of service, billing support, operations, and much more. These priorities follow a fast-track development lifecycle – from design and innovation through standards, specifications, requirements, business use cases, software toolkits, open source solutions, and interoperability testing.

ATIS is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). ATIS is the North American Organizational Partner for the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), a founding Partner of the oneM2M global initiative, a member and major U.S. contributor to the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), as well as a member of the Inter-American Telecommunication Commission (CITEL). For more information, visit

Marcella Wolfe, Manager – Public Relations and Marketing Communications, ATIS